Things I Love

1 Jan

About me’s are hard. What could be more fun than to make them even harder?

Adventures. I love not knowing how a day is going to turn out, I love doing things I’ve never done before, I love meeting new people and having new stories.

Basketball. Gonzaga basketball, to be specific. I absolutely adore the craziness of the school spirit at a tight game and playing in the pep band has been an amazing experience.

Calculus. I know it’s weird. I love how a whole page of work turns into one elegantly simple answer, and I love how – like so few things in real life – there’s always a right answer.

Driving. This isn’t exactly unique, but driving on a pretty road with the radio blasting is some kind of heaven.

Earning my own money. I pay all my own bills, buy my food, pay rent, and never feel guilty for spending money on wants because I know I earned it and I can afford it. Being able to do that while in college is something I’m really proud of.

Facebook. I spend way too much time on it. I guess it’s a sort of love-hate thing because I could be so productive if it didn’t exist.

Gonzaga. Basically everything Gonzaga related. It’s been the best thing that ever happened to me – I’ve found my best friends and (cheese alert!) myself.

Hopkins. For the last two and a half years, that house has been my second home and I love that there’s someone interesting to talk to or something fun to do every time I walk in the door.

InDesign. Such a fun program to work with, and I love having a page come out exactly the way I pictured it. On a similar note…

Journalism. Working on the Shorewood Kolus, the Gonzaga Bulletin and Gonzaga Magazine have been some of the best experiences of my life and I hope to keep doing it forever.

Knitting. My brother tells me I’m a 74-year-old woman, but there’s nothing like wearing a pair of gloves you spent three months making, or giving a friend a sweater you worked on for over a year.

Lindy hop. I learned to swing dance in high school thanks to an inconveniently scheduled driver’s ed class, but it’s become such a huge part of my life. A perfect dance, even with a total stranger, is such a transcendental feeling.

Memorizing lines. I really miss the community theater that I was involved in when I was in high school. I love how months and months of preparation go into a show and then you get on stage and just know exactly what to do. I can’t wait to get back into it – hopefully after graduation!

Necklaces. I have way too many but not nearly enough. I wear a necklace almost every day and I love the way it can pull an outfit together. Definitely my favorite accessory.

Owen. My baby brother and most favorite person in the world. I remember vividly walking through the hospital the day he was born and realizing I was about to meet someone I would know for the rest of my life. Teaching him to read when I was in middle school is still the most meaningful thing I’ve ever done.

Productivity. I procrastinate way too much, but when I sit myself down for a few hours and just crank some work out, it feels so good. I do my best work at Starbucks at 6am on a weekend morning. My theory is that I’m so angry with the world for existing at that hour that I get work done out of spite.

Quilts. For two reasons: I love crafts, and making things that turn out beautiful and useful (see: Knitting) and I also have a strange obsession with home decorating. I read decorating magazines and love watching TLC and HGTV.

Reading. Stupid teen chick lit, biographies, academic tomes, magazines, the back of a cereal box – I’ll read it all.

Seattle. Born and raised, but it wasn’t until I left that I realized what an amazing city it is.

Taylor Swift. My obsession is actually probably a little bit unhealthy, but my favorite thing to do is put my iTunes on Taylor Swift shuffle.

Umlaut. Well, not umlauts specifically (although due to their importance in the word Herräng, I’m a big fan), but words like it. Unusual words and words that are perfect for whatever you’re describing.

Video games. Namely those developed in the last millenium, because 3D confuses me. Super Mario? MarioKart? Love it.

Welding. And sawing. And hammering. And just generally building things. My dad taught me to use all his tools when I was growing up and being able to do that kind of stuff makes me feel like I am strong, capable and can take care of myself. My housemates may associate this with my obsession with being “strong and helpful.”

XKCD. Favorite webcomic ever.

Years. This one doesn’t really make sense, but I am fascinated by time. I love that every twelve months (which seems to be the perfect amount of time) we get this chance to make a fresh start, and everything seems possible. And I love that as a student, I get it twice – in January and September!

Zeta. Or Z in Spanish. Taking Spanish classes is the most annoying thing ever and I’m so glad it’s over, but being able to speak it? So cool! I loved having conversations with Santiago (my Barcelona doorman!) in Spanish.

I also love brand new toothbrushes, using skills you forgot you had, Evernote, history (past fascinations include the Titanic, Pompeii, the Holocaust … I was a weird kid), exploring, fuzzy socks, Reese’s peanut butter cup ice cream, talking long past my bedtime, writing angsty poems, getting mail, sunsets over Puget Sound, and sleeping.

Leave a Reply

