My Mom Hates H&M

9 Jan

With a burning passion. Almost as much as she hates Forever 21, and that’s A LOT.

She hates pretty much everything that isn’t Nordstroms. It’s a little strange, because we’re not rich by any means, but I guess clothing is something she doesn’t skimp on. Which is great when she’s buying, but not so great when I’m shopping for new clothes on my pathetic college-student budget.

During my (post-)study-abroad jaunt around Europe (because I’m a stereotypical upper-middle-class white kid) this last summer, I learned that H&M is fantastic. Things are cheap, they’re cute, and did I mention they’re really cheap? So ever since I got back in August, I’ve been wanting to go shopping at one.

There were three, maybe four, H&Ms in walking distance of my Barcelona apartment. Honestly, there was just way too much shopping to be done. I can never live in that close of proximity to shopping again because it killed my budget. Back here in the states, I had to wait until I was in Seattle (which happens about once every four months) and then drive half an hour to University Village to get my fix.

I spent hours trying on absolutely everything, constantly reminding myself that because I am not 5’10” and 100 lbs, not everything will look good on me. That store could give anyone a complex, with all their skinny jeans and crop tops. But I was successful in the end.

Then I met my family for dinner. “You went to H&M???” my mom asked, with the kind of disgust most mothers would reserve for learning their son spent his 18th birthday at a strip club.

“Yes, mom,” I calmly replied. “And I bought things there.”

“But it’s just so, so…” she trailed off and then shuddered, as if there were no adjectives to describe the horror that is H&M.

If you buy something at Nordstrom, you can except to still be wearing it 3-5 years later. Which is great. You can also expect it to be 3-5 times more expensive than the same item at H&M. That quality difference, to her, is tantamount to the difference between buying something from Chanel and pulling something out of a dumpster in a hick town. To me, it’s a mild annoyance that I deal with, because it’s – remember? – really, really cheap.

In the end, she actually approved of my purchases. Maybe thirty years down the road my future daughter will talk her into actually stepping foot inside the store.

To prove my point, today I bought:

  • Two t-shirts, one black and one white
  • A pair of shorts
  • A black skirt
  • A cute graphic tank top
  • A pair of red flats
  • A grey scarf
  • A red coat
For a grand total of $112, including tax. At Nordstrom, the coat itself would cost that much. Is it cool in an ironic way yet to say “Winning”? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

P.S. – Hello and thanks to Nikkilicious, my first follower that I don’t know personally! You’re awesome!

One Response to “My Mom Hates H&M”

  1. Anonymous January 10, 2012 at 5:23 am #

    I love red coats… on other people other than myself at least 🙂 I’m glad you were able to find great things at H&M!

Leave a Reply

