The Great Furniture Shuffle

16 Jan

I try to avoid Walmart whenever possible. Ever since 8th grade, I’ve felt a bit of a moral repugnance at the entire corporation. Also I’m pretty sure one of my closest friends would disown me if I shopped there.

But today was the day of The Great Furniture Shuffle. See, my desk and dresser don’t actually belong to me. They belong to my friend who previously lived in my room who has conveniently been in London for the next four months. He didn’t bring the furniture with him.

It was extraordinarily convenient, but then it ended, as all good things must. With the return of my friend came the loss of my beloved furniture. I needed a new desk and dresser, I needed them cheap, and I needed them now.

First stop. Craigslist.

Found a $20 desk close to campus. We’re getting it tomorrow. Not so good in terms of storage, but I will make it work.

But then, after exhausting all thrift-store options, there was only one place to go. It was terrifying, dark, evil, like a black hole that sucks in the last goodness of America and spits out made-in-China plastic instead. It was Walmart.

I’ve only been in Walmart a few times in my life, but every time I am surprised by the fact that People of Walmart is so true. Some people were in pajamas. I have never in my life been to a store where 25% of the shoppers are wearing pajamas at 6 pm.

But the prices, oh the prices. I bought a desk chair and a “dresser” and I can still afford to eat. That is truly an accomplishment. And now I have fulfilled my Walmart quota for my college years. I hope.

 

One Response to “The Great Furniture Shuffle”

  1. Erin January 16, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    “One does not simply walk into walmart – there is an evil there that never sleeps” I’m glad you’re still able to eat though 😛

Leave a Reply

