falling in love five times a week

6 Feb

I’ve got this friend who writes hilarious things with much more talent than I, and she is far more open about her feelings regarding menfolk (snarlingid.blogspot.com, she’s awesome). And I think that’s kind of cool. So I’m following in her footsteps.

I tend to be the type to fall for a guy and stay fallen for him long, long after it has become clear that nothing is going to happen.

This semester, I’m shaking things up. I’m taking the suggestion of that same friend (http://snarlingid.blogspot.com/2011/09/gettin-schooled.html). A suggestion she outlined in mid-September around the time that we had a conversation about our difficulties with the menfolk and that has apparently served her well, because she is now dating a fantastic young man.

Her three-step plan? 1. Be convinced you are a catch (she totally is). 2. Spend 3 more minutes getting ready in the morning (I’m not sure if it was due to this step or the weather, but she regularly wore 5 layers at the end of last semester) 3. Smile at everyone (I assume she did? At least, she always smiles at me).

And I think she’s a genius. I feel better about myself. I have more fun. I meet more interesting people because I am slowly getting over my assumption that everyone thinks I’m super lame (see: Lessons Learned). I am generally happier, and I’ve fallen in love approximately nine times in three weeks.

Well, more like falling in moderately-interested. But still. A new person about every three days. It’s fantastic. Maybe it’s that now I’m not looking for someone who matches every single box on that imaginary checklist of the-perfect-boy. I’m pretty open to letting the checklist be written later.

So I meet someone, I talk to them, I smile at them. Maybe we flirt a bit, maybe not. And I think, “I’d love to talk to him again.”

And that’s that. I don’t engineer ways to run into them again, excuses for why we should totally hang out. I don’t plan out our future conversations. I just figure I’ll see them eventually and we’ll talk again and if it goes well, maybe we’ll eventually hang out.

Does it work? I don’t know. Ask me in a month or three. But I can tell you it feels way better to be out in the world taking a chance than sitting in my room whining.

4 Responses to “falling in love five times a week”

  1. Emily February 7, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    now I have 2 blogs to stalk. This is excellent. 🙂

    • laurenkcampbell February 8, 2012 at 12:54 am #

      Yay! Bestie and I greatly appreciate it, I’m sure.

  2. Alexis C. Rice February 7, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    This is so awesome. This blog is awesome. And I love falling in moderately-interested; it brings zest back into your life….

    • laurenkcampbell February 7, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      D’aww, thanks! And I way agree about falling-in-moderately-interested. All of my activities are so much more exciting now!

Leave a Reply

