The Obese Trumpet

16 Feb

I joined pep band having not played an instrument since I quit clarinet in seventh grade. I knew I was tired of sitting in line for basketball tickets and seats like I did all of freshman year, so I decided to learn an instrument and start being able to walk into every game 45 minutes before it started, instead of planning three days ahead of time.

I got a free mellophone, took some lessons, and joined in. I was horrible. I’m still horrible, actually, but significantly less horrible than I was before.

So as I near the end of my second year of pep band, I am faced with a dilemma: Do I or do I not want to do this senior year?

I Do:

– Want to go to basketball games

– Want to travel to Vegas and the tournament

– Occasionally have fun

I Do Not:

– Want to go to two basketball games a week, every week November through February

– Want to do band when my best band-friend won’t be there

– Need to keep eating arena food (but it’s so good!)

I had myself all but convinced that I was going to quit because of the time commitment. Then I realized that by quitting, I would gain absolutely nothing. Instead, I think I’m going to just be a really terrible member of the pep band. I will go to games only when I want to. St Mary’s? BYU? I’m so in. The game on a Thursday night when I have at least ten things I should/would rather be doing instead? No thanks. I will be a fair-weather mellophone.

Except I really doubt I’ll get to Vegas that way.

2 Responses to “The Obese Trumpet”

  1. Emily Slater February 17, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    I want to go to vegas next yearrrrr. It’s senior year so we should have a really fun spring break that we don’t have to pay forrr. I will be your best band friend 🙂

    • laurenkcampbell February 17, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      That is a good point. Except Vegas isn’t over Spring Break this year! Bizarre, right? I’m not going to Vegas but I am going to men’s NCAA, which is over break. Which also happens to be my birthday.

Leave a Reply

