Pageants

23 Feb

In the office yesterday, we got to discussing beauty pageants. I don’t know if that’s the politically correct term anymore, but it’s accurate. More specifically, we were discussing how horrible they are.

I think the entire existence of pageants is kind of sad, because it puts a girl’s whole worth into her appearance. Sure, there’s an interview portion. But anyone who has seen the 2007 Miss Teen South Carolina knows intelligence doesn’t actually matter.

So they bug me a bit, but if that’s how someone wants to spend her time, whatever. The thing that really freaked me out was learning that my university offers a significant scholarship to the winner of the citywide pageant, providing she’s a student here.

What??? We’re giving girls money to attend this fine academic institution based on how they look in a bikini? I’m pretty sure that goes against the mission statement.

Am I overreacting? Because I think this is ridiculous.

3 Responses to “Pageants”

  1. Amy February 26, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    ARGHHHH! I can’t believe we were trying to convince TOM of all people…and still failed.

  2. laurenkcampbell February 24, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    This is hilarious. The real ones make me want to cry.

  3. Erin February 24, 2012 at 11:50 am #


    Toddlers and Tiaras Tom Hanks style

Leave a Reply

