Oh, lauren’s good at gossip!

24 Feb

I’m a people person. One of my favorite things to do is talk to people, get to know them, understand what makes them tick.

So naturally, I tend to know a lot about what’s going on in the lives of people who are important to me.

This means that whenever something happens, I’m counted on to know what, why and how.

So someone will hear a rumor about something, but not know the details. They’ll be curious.

So when I come home, we’ll be talking about something completely unrelated when someone exclaims, “Lauren! You’re good at gossip!”

So they’ll ask me, assuming that somehow, in the midst of all my other activities, I have managed to keep an eye on the details of the lives of all of my friends and that I will know exactly what’s going on.

And, I always do.

I don’t think of it as gossip – actual secrets, I keep quiet – but as paying attention. I’m that person who makes sure no one makes that awkward comment that makes everyone feel uncomfortable. I make sure people know what’s up with the people who are important to them.

Gossip is kind of a dirty word. And so when someone seeks me out for my gossip skills I feel like they’re saying something bad. But I honestly do it out of care for the people around me, not out of some need to always be the one who knows what’s going on.

I prefer to think of it as being aware.

Leave a Reply

