Every birthday, ever

18 Mar

As I went to bed on my 21st birthday, I was thinking back over every birthday I’ve had, and how they kind of show the progression of my life:

One: Obviously I don’t remember this. I assume I spent it shoving cake in my face with my parents.

Two: Also don’t remember this one. See above.

Three: Or this one. But I think I had friends at this point.

Four: We rented the pool and daycare at Harbor Square. There was cake and a piñata and I got lots of presents but wasn’t allowed to open them until I got home because the other kids would get jealous. We played Musical Chairs and I cried when I lost.

Five: We did the exact same thing as the year before. I talked my mom into letting us play Musical Chairs again, and I told her that I was much more mature than the year before and wouldn’t cry if I lost because only babies did that. Then I lost and I cried.

Six: I probably had Ashleigh spend the night. We hung out together a lot.

Seven: Chuckie Cheese and swimming with my best friend Ashleigh.

Eight: Chuckie Cheese and ice skating in the morning with Ashleigh, Molly and Michelle. Even though I was getting birthday presents, I had to get a gift bag too or I was going to be way too jealous of all the dollar-store goodies. It was a flower-power-themed party.

Nine: Went with Carly, Kayli, Michelle, and Maddy to Nana’s farm. We rode horses (Michelle and I fell off) and made applesauce and jumped from the loft onto the waterbed at the cabin.

Ten: Fourth grade was an awkward year. I didn’t really have a group of friends at the time. I’m not sure what I did – maybe just something with my family?

Eleven: I think I had a sleepover at my house that year. I invited friends from both Syre and Meridian Park, which was fun.

Twelve: We got a hotel room downtown. Hung out, played games, went in the pool. I remember Elizabeth Smart was on the news for being returned to her family. It was a great birthday party – except for the hotel breakfast in the morning was cold and not delicious at all.

Thirteen: Went to my Nana’s cabin for an overnight with Shanna, Helen, Molly, and Emilia. I think someone else may have been there but I don’t remember. We talked about boys a lot – I’m sure my mom was cracking up from the other room. Helen decided to go swimming even though it was March.

Fourteen: Eighth grade … I don’t know what I did that year. Probably a sleepover, but I don’t know who I would have invited – I was kind of between friend groups at the time.

Fifteen: Sleepover, went to see the school play. Everyone got a dollar-store teddy bear. We had a fantastic discussion late into the night which I’m sure we thought was far more intellectual than it actually was. Also my parents made me a really cool pole-vaulting cake.

Sixteen: My closest friend had just moved away – we had talked about doing a joint Sweet 16. I don’t think I did much of anything, I think I wanted a camera and asked my parents to spend money on that instead of a party.

Seventeen: Had a sleepover at my house with my closest friends. For some reason my dad got really mad at me, and then told me I was too old to be having sleepovers, and I cried.

Eighteen: Rented Driftwood, hung out, ate cake, watched Footloose. It was a lot of fun.

Nineteen: I made spaghetti in the basement of Madonna for all my college friends. It was a blast. 

Twenty: I don’t think I did much of anything. I had just gotten back from Mission:Possible. However, my suitemates (Jessica, Shireen, Savannah) did draw an awesome picture on the mirror.

Twenty-one: Spent the day before exploring Pittsburgh with Adam, went to my free courtside seats at the NCAA tournament, then went to two bars after midnight with Adam, Sam, Patrick and Tucker. Then on my actual birthday walked to Fatheads with Adam and Sam, ate the most delicious sandwich ever, went to a CD shop and got MC Brainz, and hung out with lots of band people all night, laughing a lot.

And that is my childhood in birthdays. I plan on having my adulthood be equally excellent.

Leave a Reply

