Hmm … does she hate America?

19 Mar

This morning, I got a call from the Department of Defense. There’s something about a deep voice from the Department of Defense confirming your identity that makes you immediately feel guilty.

But this wasn’t about me (and no, there’s no reason it should have been). No, he was investigating a friend of mine, who happens to be applying for a government job.

I met with him this afternoon. It was very official – he showed me his ID and everything. And he moved through the list of questions (pretty simple), I kind of enjoyed the interview.

I liked thinking about my friend’s life, the history of our friendship, and the way she behaves. Maybe it’s because I enjoy judging people way too much (see: I’m Judging You), but I like analyzing people and contemplating their character.

If you’re ever asked to be a character reference for someone applying to work for the U.S. government, I recommend doing it. It’s quite fun.

Oh, and in the end, I decided she probably wasn’t a threat to the security of the United States of America.

Leave a Reply

