I would really like to just quit school

30 Mar

I have two majors and I don’t care about them. One is a joke except it’s a joke that is finally requiring me to do some actual work (not thinking-work, just investing-time work). The other is not a joke, but it has no real-world implications on my life.

Sometimes I wish I could keep living in my house, working on the paper, having my job … and just not go to class. Because if I didn’t go to class I wouldn’t have homework. And I wouldn’t have spent four hours doing a take-home test and not be even halfway done with it. 

It’s not that I’m lazy. I’m just really bad at pretending to care about things that are going to have zero impact on my life past graduation. Heck, they’re going to have zero impact on my life past when I turn in the assignment/take the test. But I can’t stop caring about them, because I need to have a degree. Argh.

I don’t want to quit school to have more time for fun. I want to quit school to have more time for work that I actually care about at least a little bit. 

(Don’t worry, Mom/any concerned about my sanity. I’m not going to.)

Leave a Reply

