The Simple Things

8 Apr

Today I slept in and woke up without an alarm.

My housemates, being the amazing people that they are, had a huge Easter brunch ready to put on the table. I got to wake up and eat breakfast with some of the most wonderful people I know.

I Skyped home and got to see my family’s faces for the first time since January. My brothers look so grown-up, I wish I could be there for everything they’re going through.

I talked to another friend on Skype who I haven’t seen since summer, and made tentative plans for the next time we will see each other.

I worked on homework in the green room, with the sun shining through the open windows.

I went for a walk along the river, where I sang along to my iPod, enjoyed the sun, smiled at small children in strollers and cried a couple of times, but in the best way.

And when I made it home, there was another meal, a dinner of ham and spinach salad and homemade bread and scalloped potatoes and green beans, and six of my favorite people around the table. The chance to eat and laugh and just be together was so much what I needed.

I’m just very grateful today.

2 Responses to “The Simple Things”

  1. aolehaole April 8, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    How the eff is food just magically prepared for you?!

Leave a Reply

