I’m Sorry

9 Apr

This weekend, I was told someone hates me. That a girl I barely know, a girl I’ve said pretty disparaging things about, a girl who is probably hurting more than anyone else on this campus this week, can’t stand me.

Of course, my immediate reaction was “Why??? She doesn’t even know me!”But that’s not fair. I don’t even know her and that hasn’t stopped me from saying plenty of rude things. At least she has a legitimate reason for not liking me – she knows I’ve been judgmental toward her.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the last week, it’s that there’s no good reason to say those kinds of things about a fellow human being. You never know when you’ll stop having the chance to make it up to them. You never know what else is going on in their head. You never know what they’ve been going through.

I hate being hated. I want people to think highly of me. But I’ve given this girl absolutely no reason to do so.

From today on, I’m going to be nothing but nice to her. I’m going to stop saying stupid crap behind her back – what’s the point of that in the first place? I’m going to start respecting her as a fellow human being instead of judging her for how she acts or what she wears.

I don’t think she’ll ever find this blog, but if she does, I just want to say I am so, so sorry. There’s no excuse for being a bitch, and that’s what I was doing.

And I feel like shit for it.

One Response to “I’m Sorry”

  1. aolehaole April 9, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Damn. This was also unexpected. I can’t believe someone said that about you!

Leave a Reply

