Best Gift Ever

17 Apr

When I’m at a loss for blog ideas, I sometimes look at journaling prompts online. Today: Describe the best gift you ever received.

My parents have always been pretty good gift-givers, but the best gift I ever got was from a friend of mine. It was nearly free, and probably not terribly difficult to put together, but incredibly meaningful.

It’s a collection of black and white photo in a square black frame. Each photo is a different one of my friends, holding a piece of paper with a single word on it. Together, they spell out lyrics to Taylor Swift’s “Stay Beautiful”: “You’re beautiful/Every little piece, love/Don’t you know/You’re really gonna be someone/Ask anyone.”

The picture hangs about my “vanity” (a wire shelf that holds my hair stuff and makeup, as well as textbooks) where I see it every day as I get ready.

I don’t love it because of how it looks, I love it because of what it means. It means that even a friendship you think is completely broken can be repaired and come back stronger than it ever was before. It reminds me that I am loved even when I have bad hair days, when I get a bad grade, when I get turned down, be it by a job or a boy. I have friends who will stand behind me no matter what. It means I have a community, these people who care about me so much more than I ever could have hoped for on that day in late August 2009 when we all met for the first time.

2 Responses to “Best Gift Ever”

  1. ianmulligan08 October 1, 2013 at 4:18 am #

    I agree with Emily. Every time I saw this I always smiled. It is just such a feel good gift that can lift your spirits whenever you look at it.

  2. Emily April 26, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    This makes me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

