I Love My Job

25 Apr

So my job is great because I get to work with people who are really good at their jobs and learn a ton from them, talk to interesting people, learn fascinating stories, get paid well, and write things that I’m proud of. I’m talking about the magazine, Amy. Duh.

But the reason I really love my job is because of how I’m treated.

My boss is literally one of the most wonderful women I’ve ever met. At college, it’s rare to find adults who really care about you, and she definitely does. She’s been really helpful with improving my writing, giving me tips for my other job, and giving me space to grow as a writer/editor.

And then there are days like today, when I’m really stressed out. I come into work and I tell her, “I’m really busy this week with school stuff. Can you give me a list of things to get done this week so I can just do those as quickly as possible and then get to my homework?”

Instead of being told, “You signed on for 15 hours a week and you’ve only been doing about 8 of those the last three weeks, you really need to be more responsible” – which I probably deserve – I get a short list of tasks and the instruction to, “Go be a student now. Just let me know when I’ll see you next.”

It’s pretty fantastic.

One Response to “I Love My Job”

  1. ianmulligan08 October 1, 2013 at 4:07 am #

    A good partnership that allows you to continue to write.

Leave a Reply

