And Now, A Solution

29 Apr

I hate PowerPoint with a burning passion. Always have. And I thought I would just have to live with that for the rest of my life.

Every presentation I have made since around the time we stopped getting graded on our gluing-things-straight skills has been made on this awful program. Until this week.

Yes, my friends and loyal readers, I finally discovered Prezi. I don’t know how long it’s been around, but I know I hadn’t seen it until about a week and a half ago. That was the day my life changed.

Prezi lets you make presentations that actually look nice. That’s all there really is to it. It’s web-based, so you can share it with group members and access it anywhere. It’s intuitive. The themes and color options leave a little something to be desired, but that’s an easy improvement. You can embed YouTube videos, which is way awesome.

I used Prezi for presentations in both my Introduction to Management and Consumer Behavior classes last week. Today, I was meeting with a group for Marketing Research. One of the group members suggested we use Prezi for our presentation. I responded, “I love Prezi! I just learned about it!” He said, “I just heard of it a couple days ago, one of the groups in my Consumer Behavior class used it and it was really cool.”

That was my group. Yes, that’s right, someone remembered an in-class presentation I did a full three days later and thought it was cool. Has that ever happened when you used PowerPoint? I didn’t think so.

http://www.prezi.com.  You’re welcome.

One Response to “And Now, A Solution”

  1. ianmulligan08 October 1, 2013 at 4:06 am #

    I really need to learn Prezi and start using it in my classroom. My students have been bugging me to learn it. PowerPoint just isn’t really cutting it anymore. It does not keep your audience engaged at all. Your Prezi for your Senior Project was wonderful I might add.

Leave a Reply

