Let’s Go On An Adventure

2 May

It’s been almost a year since I took off for Europe, and I find myself itching for an adventure. There are so many things I want to do, see, experience. It doesn’t even matter what they are, as long as they’re new. I want to get on a train and just see where I end up. I want to ride my bike for days, camping along the way. I want to go somewhere I’ve never been, meet people I’ve never met, do things I’ve never done.

So, this all gets me thinking about what I want to do after I graduate, and I don’t think I want to get a job right away. I don’t know, I guess all these people talking about marriage and med school and careers have me terrified. I’m not ready to start my real life quite yet. I’d rather road trip across the country, or go back to Europe (must. return. to. Herrang.), or get a work visa and live in Australia for a year. Or maybe I’ll do JVC, or the Peace Corps. Maybe I’ll teach English abroad. There are so many things that I want to have as life experiences, things I won’t ever have a chance to go back and do once I’m all grown up.

This summer, I can’t afford adventures. I had too big of one last year. I’ll go camping and hiking and road trip around the northwest. And I’ll dream and plan and plot for the grand adventure that will be my post-grad life, at least for a year or two. Sure, I’ll have to be working, there’s no other way to pay for adventures. But there’s no reason I need to start careering with my work.

One Response to “Let’s Go On An Adventure”

  1. ianmulligan08 October 1, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    Soon you will get the chance to go on another adventure. We have talked about this a little bit and I am really excited for you. With a job that enables you to have time off you can take advantage of this and travel again.

    It would be a lot of fun to ride a bike and camp along the way. This sounds really enjoyable to me.

Leave a Reply

