Sometimes It Takes a While, But It’s Always Worth It

17 May

Since coming to college, I have had three friendships completely fall apart. Like, not-speaking-for-months fall apart. It’s been for a variety of reasons, definitely partially my fault, and no fun at all.

One of them got put back together at the end of freshman year. One of them healed this fall. And one of them has been slowly rebuilding over the course of this semester and finally seems to be totally okay as of tonight.

The first two read this blog, so I’m not going to write about them. (Hi guys! I’m glad we’re friends!) Besides, the third situation was completely different.

First of all, the brick wall was not mutual, as it was the first time, nor was it my decisions, like the second time. Nope, this time he was the one shutting me out. Also, it was a he.

Long story short, I liked this boy. And he didn’t like me back. So he decided the appropriate way to deal with this would be to just ignore me as much as possible.

It sucked.

Eventually I took the hint. But he continued ignoring me. Like, would not say hello when we were in the same room level ignoring me. After about six months of that I called him on it and we started to exchange pleasantries again. Around March, we had a real conversation for the first time in nearly a year – but always with at least three other people around.

Until today. I went over to his apartment and we hung out for about two hours. Just talking about life and catching up. We never mentioned anything that had happened and we probably never will. We sat on separate couches. Conversation was easy. And while I don’t really understand what happened, it was probably a lot like what I was on the opposite side of a few months ago, here: Sorry, you’re great, but I’m not feeling it. That’s okay.

It took more than a year, but we’re okay now. And that day when you realize the grudge or the awkward silence isn’t worth it anymore is always a great day.

One Response to “Sometimes It Takes a While, But It’s Always Worth It”

  1. ianmulligan08 October 1, 2013 at 3:38 am #

    It is always a great day when this happens.

Leave a Reply

