When I Least Expect It

5 Jun

I was reading through a bunch of awards and stuff today to pick things out for publication. As I was scrolling through the English department, I ran into this:

First-Year Literature

Tyler Laferriere 1st place

Chris Gormley 2nd place

Sara Reed 3rd place

I expect to feel sad for a minute when I walk into the green room. Or past his picture in the kitchen. Or I’m spending time on the water. I know those things are going to remind me and I’ll be hit with the finality of it all again.

But when I’m scrolling through names of papers our professors have published over the last twelve months? I don’t expect it to get to me then. And it catches me a little off guard and I have to pause and take just a second to be sad and grateful.

Leave a Reply

