Where I Stand Now

7 Jun

Well, college graduation is about eleven months away. Yes, I’m aware senior year hasn’t even started yet, but I’ve always been a worrier. And as such, I am terrified by the idea of figuring out my life from here.I’ve considered throwing my hat in the ring for as many magazine/journalism jobs as I possibly can and starting my career. There’s a pretty good chance that option would result in moving to New York, which would be terrifying but also terribly exciting.

Then there’s post-grad service, specifically JVC (Jesuit Volunteer Corps). I like the living-in-community aspect that a lot of post-grad service programs don’t have, and I think it could be a really awesome growth opportunity.

Then there’s the idea that maybe I should do something that will take me to a third-world country, maybe teaching English or something, so that I could really get a broader taste of the world. That sounds hard – life without hot water??? – but definitely worthwhile.

Or, I would LOVE to go back to Europe, this time to work and really build a life, get to know locals there. It would be incredibly hard to do, especially because I would need to find something paid, or at least free. But when else in my life will I have the limited responsibilities that I will a year from now?

There’s the grad school option, but that doesn’t make sense financially or for where I want my life to go. Even staying here for an extra year to get my MBA seems like it would be kind of silly.

And then of course there’s the living in my parents’ basement working a minimum wage job option – shocking how that one doesn’t sound too appealing, isn’t it?

Or maybe – most likely? – I’ll end up doing something I haven’t even thought of yet.

I’ve found a place where I belong here at college. I’ve made friends, I’ve tried new things, I’ve been pretty successful. It’s comfortable here. The idea of leaving that bubble and, for the first time in my life, not having a “next step” neatly laid out for me is incredibly scary. But it’s also freeing. A year from now, two years from now, I could be absolutely anywhere in the world, doing anything, and I have no clue what my life is going to look like then.

I’ll keep you posted.

One Response to “Where I Stand Now”

  1. ianmulligan08 August 3, 2013 at 5:52 am #

    You have kept your audience posted indeed. This is the sort of post you come back to and read over again.

Leave a Reply

