Adventures in Journalism

30 Jul

Today was a very exciting day in my burgeoning journalistic career. Today I got to write about a movie! And take pictures!

They are currently filming a movie, “Admissions,” (man and woman take thier children on a college tour, fall in love) on campus. I am currently putting together a newspaper on campus. Wait, what was that, a movie? What a great front page story! And they’re going to have extras who are students? Lead art! Lead art!

Well, the girl we assigned the article to decided not to write it. So I’m going to. Not much is new there.

Also, I didn’t start the story until today. Also not much new there.

I knew they were shooting a big scene with extras downtown this afternoon, so I figured I would walk down and get some interview from kids who were being extras and basically write a huge fluff piece, run some pretty pictures and call it good.

But I was walking through campus when I saw some filming going on. So I just walked up to the group and said, “Excuse me, I’m the editor in chief of the school newspaper and I’m writing an article about the filming. Who should I talk to?”

“You should talk to me,” responded the man directly in front of me, who I figured must be a PR minion of some sort. But no. “I’m the producer and co-writer, and this is our star, Andy Garcia.”

Sweet! I was actually going to get a decent interview for this article!

We sat down and chatted for half an hour about the film industry and this movie and all sorts of things. I knew from being on the email list that photography was not allowed at the shoot, but I also knew I needed pictures for this to be a decent article. So I asked and was told that my photographer could do whatever she wanted and if anyone said anything to tell them to talk to him. Sweet!

Well, the afternoon shoot was behind schedule, so our photographer had to leave before the climactic moment. So I borrowed a camera and proceeded to run around like a crazy person taking pictures of everything, getting all up in people’s faces.

Okay, actually no. But I was taking pictures in a no-photos-allowed zone and I was on a first-name-basis with the producer of a film, so I was pretty happy.

It was an excellent journalistic day.

6 Responses to “Adventures in Journalism”

  1. ianmulligan08 July 31, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    The film is called, Middleton, here is the trailer link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwhVyfP-Z58

    Really awesome that you got to meet the producer. Now I need to watch the movie at the next possible opportunity. Did you get to talk with Andy Garcia? He is a pretty good actor.

    • laurenkcampbell July 31, 2013 at 7:20 am #

      The trailer is out??? The director was a really cool guy, I didn’t talk to Andy Garcia though.

      • ianmulligan08 July 31, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

        Yes, but I don’t think the film has been released. When I goggled the release date all I got was Kate Middleton’s due date. No reviews on rotten tomatoes yet either.

  2. Erin July 30, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Hey people were just at wsu making a film called admissions!

    • laurenkcampbell July 30, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

      I know, it’s the same movie! They’re stitching the two campuses together to make the fictional college. It’s like we go to school together again 🙂

      • Erin August 3, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

        Oh my goodness that’s amazing!!

Leave a Reply

