On the scene

20 Aug

I work for a college newspaper, therefore I report on a college campus, therefore everything that I cover is within walking distance of our office. Convenient, but not terribly thrilling.

So today it was really exciting when I got to do something a little different!

Along with a photographer, I headed 2.5 hours into the middle of the state to learn about a weed that is ruining everything! Or at least causing lots of problems for cattle and wild animals and fires and native plants. So it’s pretty important.

We had dinner at a Mexican restaurant with the team of researches, then spent three hours out at the field site watching them hammer nails and plant seeds, talking about student research and grad school and biology.

It was awesome.

My favorite thing about journalism is the opportunity to immerse yourself in a world you know nothing about for a brief period of time, learn something awesome, and then share that with a reader just as clueless as you used to be.

I am not a scientist, I am not a researcher. I can’t identify with the excitement of taking some plants back to the lab ten months later to determine whether or not the fungus successfully killed them. But I think it’s really cool that some people think that’s really cool.

I love learning new things and meeting new people, and my favorite people are the ones who are passionate about something. In journalism, pretty much everyone you interview is passionate about something, and that makes them all utterly fascinating.

Anyways, I love my job today. Now I just hope I can find a way to write this story so other people can be interested in it too.

One Response to “On the scene”

  1. alishearer August 21, 2012 at 3:58 am #

    I’m a journalism student to so I definitely know what you mean. I liked this part:

    “My favorite thing about journalism is the opportunity to immerse yourself in a world you know nothing about for a brief period of time, learn something awesome, and then share that with a reader just as clueless as you used to be.”

    So true. Great blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

