You are not a nerd

24 Aug

I am a nerd. I know I am a nerd because the majority of the time I would rather read a book than go to a party. I knit. I took Calc II solely because I love calculus. I waste time on the internet by reading The Atlantic and New York Times, not playing Dolphin Olympics. Is that still a thing? I think it was only popular for a few months in 2008. Not the point.

I find it rather annoying when someone claims nerd-dom who clearly is not nerdy.

So, a little guide:

  • Enjoying reading Harry Potter does not make you a nerd.
  • Doing your homework instead of going to a party does not make you a nerd if you’re only doing it because you’ll fail otherwise.
  • You are not a nerd because you enjoy playing video games. Pretty much every guy 12 – 25 does.
  • Enjoying memes does not make you a nerd. This is 2012, your grandmother enjoys memes.
  • Remembering how to do algebra or the difference between their/there/they’re just means you’re educated, not a nerd.
  • Do not claim to be “such a nerd” while wearing a skirt shorter than your heels.
  • Wearing glasses does not make you a nerd.
  • If you wear a baseball hat backwards while drinking beer on a porch with the bros, you are not a nerd.

Other thoughts?

 

7 Responses to “You are not a nerd”

  1. ianmulligan08 July 31, 2013 at 4:10 am #

    Tank and a hat backwards drinking beer and talking about science fiction. I see a conflict of interest here with me.

    • laurenkcampbell July 31, 2013 at 7:18 am #

      Hahaha maaaaybe. This was about one of the neighbros though.

      • ianmulligan08 July 31, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

        A pretty funny group of people. Travis was probably my favorite.

        • laurenkcampbell July 31, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

          Travis is one of those people I will never forget. What a character.

          • ianmulligan08 July 31, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

            The story of how he pulled some kid into his house after gunshots were heard is priceless, “Lift up your shirt man.” Or the homeless guy berating his house calling them frat boys. As you said someone to remember and quite the character.

  2. retr0mance August 24, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    The moment you use “nerd” to be cool in a social situation means you are not a nerd!

    funny post!

  3. Picture-Bandit August 24, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    “Enjoying memes does not make you a nerd. This is 2012, your grandmother enjoys memes.” – This line made me laugh out loud.

    I think playing Pen & Paper RPG still get’s you the nerd-qualification-badge. Also if you read Harry Potter in two different languages (English & French, both not my mother tongue) is a bit nerdish 😉

Leave a Reply

