Pros and Cons of my life decision

30 Jul

PRO

  • I have a full-time salaried job with a growing company that I really like. That’s pretty much the whole reason I’m here.
  • My salary is enough that I should be able to afford to fly out of here once a month or so.
  • I got a room for a reasonable price ($500 vs the $1800 it would cost me to have an apartment).
  • I’ve met some really neat people in town.
  • Since I have no friends and there’s nothing to do, there’s no reason I can’t get a second job.

CONS

  • Williston gets cold. Like, really cold. Like negative 50 F cold.
  • I have no friends.
  • To go shopping at all, it’s a two hour drive to Minot.
  • I’m about a 12 hour drive from anywhere. And it’s impossible to get a round trip plane ticket anywhere for under $350.
  • There’s no Starbucks. This is a big deal.

So basically, the whole reason I’m here is because of the job. But someone recently told me it’s better to have a job you love in a crappy place than love where you live and hate your job. This is basically my philosophy and why I took this job. Postgrad adventure time!

4 Responses to “Pros and Cons of my life decision”

  1. Linda Mulligan July 30, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    At age 21 I was definitely on my own, moved to a small town for a nursing job, worked the worst shift ever … 12am-8am, had no friends and really nothing to my name. And though it sounds cliche, I discovered so many things about who I was, what I was made of, and most of all that I could really stand on my own two feet, be an adult, make good decisions and bring some happiness and caring into the patients lives that I came in contact with. To this day, I still remember some of those patients names that I cared for in that small town. They never knew it but they played a big part in shaping me into the kind of person that I knew I could always be. Look for the hidden gems in this town and embrace this time that will certainly be the starting point of wonderful things ahead for you. I wish you all the best!

  2. bonesong July 30, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Well, I don’t agree with your friend rockerpult about coffee, but I do agree with what he said about your focus. I know the winters up there as I toured ND in college with my college theatre troupe. I hope you survive it as it can be harsh. I hope the job you keep loving it. Miss seeing you and hope you can visit regularly to get you through this season of your life. Good luck Lauren! Save up your money to get a good start somewhere else soon. Read and write lots. Stay in touch and you’ll do fine!

    • laurenkcampbell July 30, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      Is this Sarah? I don’t agree about coffee either – it’s a very important part of life! The job is only based in Williston short-term though, I will probably move to Phoenix in about a year.

  3. rockerpult July 30, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    The cons sound pretty bad, but they’re only bad if you focus on them. Friends come and go, McDonald’s coffee is cheaper and tastes better than Starbucks.

    The pros sound pretty good in comparison. If you love your job/love what you’re being paid for, that’s a pretty good thing.

Leave a Reply

