Daydreaming

31 Jul

Since I officially accepted my job, I’ve been daydreaming about what I’m going to do to stay sane while in Williston. Which is basically, get out of Williston.

I spent a good two hours today on various websites, looking at cheap vacation rentals in all the places I want to go. Some of the places for rent on Air BnB and that sort of site are absolutely beautiful! I found myself actually a bit disappointed that I’ll be staying with friends for the majority of my travels in the near future. I love them, but who wouldn’t be tempted by a cozy downtown studio for $90/night???

I’m making a list of places I want to go in the next year, staying within the U.S., because I’ve decided I’d rather take cheaper short vacations more often than spend all my money and vacation time on a week and a half abroad.

Currently on the list are:

  • Bozeman, MT, meeting a friend halfway between Spokane and Williston
  • Omaha, NE to visit a friend who’s a med student there
  • Louisville, KY to see another friend who is teaching high school
  • Obviously a trip home to Seattle, WA for Christmas

But that’s only four trips, and I hope to get out of here once a month for the next year! Which is hopefully how long it is until this company grows enough to have corporate offices somewhere else. So, internet, where should I go?

7 Responses to “Daydreaming”

  1. danieljacobemtmann August 22, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Hey Lauren, I like what you have going here. Keep it up! As for places to travel…. We are definitely, in Siberia USA but the twin cities could be an option.

  2. rockerpult July 31, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    Have you looked at taking a train somewhere? Amtrak’s Empire Builder passes through Williston. It’s way more expensive than driving, and takes a long time to get anywhere, but it’s more that the train is the vacation itself, not so much getting to the destination.

    I took an Amtrak from Seattle to Salinas, CA and back up again and enjoyed it very much.

    • laurenkcampbell July 31, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

      I did look into it, but the expense and the ridiculously long time it takes to get anywhere are my problems. Since I have a grown-up job, I can only really travel on weekends (leave Friday afternoon), so spending that much time on a train is not very appealing.

      • rockerpult July 31, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

        Fair enough. How long of a drive is it to Crazyhorse/Mt Rushmore?

        • laurenkcampbell July 31, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

          6-7 hours. I am legitimately in the middle of nowhere.

          • rockerpult July 31, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

            What about camping? Do you have a tent?

            • laurenkcampbell July 31, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

              I don’t, actually. And I’m not a huge fan of solo camping.

Leave a Reply

