Reboot?

11 Dec

When I was posting to this blog every day back in 2012, I was always just a little bit more connected to my life. I spent every day thinking about what the one little thing I would blog about would be – it made me focus on my life just that little bit more. I was constantly surprised by the occasional comments from complete strangers that would make me feel like I was connected to the world in a grander way.

And then, as it does, life happened. It was senior year, and that was crazy busy and madness. And then I went to North Dakota, and then to Minneapolis, and then back here to Spokane. At some point in there I started to fear having a blog while looking for jobs/being employed. What if someone googled me, found this, and then didn’t hire me based on it? I didn’t want anything on the internet that didn’t portray me as a consummate professional.

But now, a year and a half past graduation, I’ve decided that’s ridiculous.

There is very little about my life that a potential/current employer would have reason to be concerned about, and if they are, I doubt that’s an environment I’d want to work in. Besides, I’ve got big goals. I’ve realized in the last few months that while I love my job (I’m working in PR now), and I’m learning a ton, it’s just a stepping stone to where I want to end up. Eventually, I want to find a way to be location-independent. Maybe that means starting my own business, freelancing, or just finding a great company where I can telecommute from anywhere in the world.

So this, I suppose, is a reboot. I’ve missed blogging, and I’ve missed forcing myself to do it every day. Now that I’ve been off of it for so long, I’ve felt a need to make each of the rare posts I’ve written be Important and Meaningful.

Warning: probably a lot of the things I write won’t be Important or Meaningful, they’ll just be anecdotes or reviews or musings on life. As they were back in college. But some of them might be!

That’s about it. Welcome back 🙂

2 Responses to “Reboot?”

  1. autumnkovachak December 11, 2014 at 10:32 am #

    Yay! I’m glad you’re blogging again! I’ve started up mine as well and hope to write more consistently in the new year. I’m glad we’ll be seeing each other more often on the wordpress world!

Leave a Reply

