20Questions: My 20

20 Dec

I’m reading a book called The 20 Something Manifesto, by Christine Hassler. Throughout the book, she has exercises to help you figure out those all-important questions: who you are, what you want, and how to get from here to there. I thought they would make excellent blogging topics.

The first prompt is to take a bit of an audit of your life. She suggests a list of major life events that have happened so far in your twenties and a list of goals for the rest of the decade. So:

Major Events

  • Spent the summer of 2011 in Europe, including 5 weeks solo travel
  • Lived in a crappy college house with six other people
  • Learned the mellophone and went to NCAA tournaments with the pep band
  • Became Editor-in-Chief of the college newspaper
  • Had my first & second relationship and break-up
  • Moved to an oil boomtown in North Dakota sight-unseen and managed restaurants
  • Moved to Minneapolis
  • Came back to Spokane and got a Real Career Job & lived alone for the first time

I’m fairly happy with how things have gone so far, three months short of my 24th birthday. The problem is figuring out where I want to go.

Goals

  • Live in a foreign country for at least three months
  • Find a job/career that allows me to avoid the 8-5 sitting at a desk work hamster wheel
  • Get married – yeah, not really something I can achieve by myself, more about being open to meeting someone I suppose?
  • Write a book – but I have no idea what about
  • Visit all 50 states (more of a life-long goal, but might as well shoot for it in the next six years)
  • Grow a creative project (podcast? blog?) into something with significant conversation around it (talk about a vague goal) & earn supplemental income from it

So my goal list is really short. I feel better since of the things on my “meaningful events” list, the only ones that were really goals were being editor and going to Europe. So I suppose the biggest crazy things are often things that I don’t plan for but just have to say yes to when the opportunity arises. Still, I wish I had a little bit more of a path other than “I’d like to be creative, and travel” because that’s EVERYONE’S goal.

I’d be interesting in seeing other people’s lists!

6 Responses to “20Questions: My 20”

  1. Ananya December 22, 2014 at 11:22 pm #

    Have you read The defining decade by Meg Jay?

    • laurenkcampbell December 23, 2014 at 8:30 am #

      Yes! I liked that book better, it seemed like it was more about getting the most out of these years rather than this book seems directed at people who find themselves in more of a slump than I am.

      • Quirks December 23, 2014 at 9:01 am #

        Yes, Meg Jay’s book is a way lot more pragmatic. I will recommend Cal Newport’s “So good” to you if you haven’t already read it. 🙂

  2. autumnkovachak December 21, 2014 at 6:55 pm #

    I LOVE this! I’m totally going to do this too. These are such good exercises to be reflective on the past and inspired for the future. What a great list!

  3. Anonymous December 20, 2014 at 10:59 pm #

    This book sounds awesome!!

Leave a Reply

