21 Dec

Millions long for immortality who don’t know what to do with themselves on a rainy Sunday afternoon. – Susan Ertz

I read that quote recently and it really resonated with me. I find myself doing this all the time: I’m sitting at my desk at work excited for 5:00 … at which point I go home and sit on my couch watching Netflix, feeling bored. Really making the most of my free time, you know?

I often find myself, on weekends, feeling really depressed if I don’t have plans, like everyone’s out there being incredibly cool without me. I managed to avoid that feeling this weekend by somehow getting really excited about two days to myself.

Today wasn’t rainy, but it was a cold, dark December Sunday. I finished a knitting project, walked to a coffee shop, listened to some podcasts, made and ate a huge quantity of sweet potato fries, and started reading The Time Traveler’s Wife. And I didn’t once get bored.

One Response to “”

  1. Glenna December 22, 2014 at 8:59 am #

    A great quote about longing for immortality. I could be survive immortality if I had a kitchen, a sewing maching, and something to type on.

Leave a Reply

