Merry. Freaking. Christmas.

25 Dec
  • My family is in Whistler, and I’m alone in Spokane.
  • Very, very alone.
  • And I couldn’t go out of town because I have to work tomorrow.
  • So I tried to do laundry and the dryer’s broken.
  • I tried to go see a movie I’ve been really excited about: it’s sold out.
  • Thought about going to the library, or a coffee shop, or anywhere with people around, but oh right, it’s Christmas and everything’s closed.
  • And then I walked past a homeless guy and felt like a brat for crying over a few inconveniences.

At least tomorrow’s Friday.

3 Responses to “Merry. Freaking. Christmas.”

  1. autumnkovachak December 26, 2014 at 7:35 am #

    Aw, I’m so sorry your Christmas was a bummer. Christmas is that weird don’t-call-your-friends holiday, but seriously I’m just a phone call away if you need a chat! I hope you have better ones in the future! And that you get to see that movie too – was it Into the Woods??

    • laurenkcampbell December 26, 2014 at 8:12 am #

      Christmas is such a weird don’t-contact-anyone-but-your-immediate family holiday! The day got better, I went and saw Into the Woods at a different theater, and then had dinner at a friend’s house 🙂

  2. Glenna December 25, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

    So, like, what are your worst fears, and haven’t you just overcome them? You survived the Spokane version of Home Alone. Next year, let me know your plans – or lack of same – and you can spend this emotionally fraught holiday with me and my wack job family. Love you and all your trauma as if it were my own.

Leave a Reply

