Terrible video games and wonderful brothers

26 Dec

I watched a TED talk recently about video games, and one of the most interesting points to me was about how they help people maintain friendships over a long distance because they’re able to do something together other than just call to “catch up.”

My brother is 15. There are very few things a 23-year-old girl and a teenage boy have in common, and he is certainly not someone I would spend time with if we didn’t share parents – that would just be creepy. I try to talk to him on the phone sometimes, but he’s not a big fan of chatting.

When he was born, I was eight years old. He started kindergarten the year I started ninth grade: with that kind of age difference, there’s not much to fight about. There’s no competition, I can just be proud of him, yet I don’t have to supervise and discipline like a parent does. We’ve always been surprisingly close, and we spend a lot of time together (mostly playing board games) when I’m home. And that relationship isn’t something that just happens: it’s always been super important to me, and I’ve made a point of maintaining it, especially since I moved out when he was only ten. That’s hard when I only see him a few times a year.

You can see where this is going: he plays a lot of computer games. I am not a fan of most of these games, since I don’t see the fun in running around pretending to kill things. But when I watched the TED talk, it was like a flash of lightning. I could play video games with Owen.

So I downloaded Steam (a computer game platform) and spent $5 buying a couple stupid games.

On Christmas Eve, we spent about half an hour running across a screen spinning axes (?) at zombies (?). It was so not the way I would choose to spend my time. But, for that half hour, my brother got to tease me about my incompetence and I got to get a few questions about his life in.

I suppose I’ll be wielding virtual battle axes a little more often now.

2 Responses to “Terrible video games and wonderful brothers”

  1. autumnkovachak December 26, 2014 at 11:00 am #

    That’s cool. It’s like speaking his “love language” in a way. What a good big sis! 🙂

Leave a Reply

