Goals & Dreams for 2015

31 Dec

These are not resolutions, because the idea is not to make me a better person (not that I’m perfect or anything close to it – I just hate the whole “these are all the things that are crappy about me” vibe of resolutions). These are things I want to do this year because they would be awesome.

  1. Complete a 30 Days of Yoga program – Yoga with Adriene is my favorite source of yoga videos (that link is to her YouTube channel, website is here) and she’s doing a 30 day program starting on the 1st, so I should get this one knocked out in January!
  2. Daily blogging! It was so fun in 2012 and I want to do it again. I am making this resolution knowing that I will not succeed, because a year in which I was never too busy to blog would be a really boring year. Last time I tried this I wrote make-up posts for days I missed, but I don’t think I’ll do that this year.
  3. Save $10,000. Pretty self explanatory. If I could be $10,000 richer 365 days from now, that would be awesome. I might do monthly budget posts on here to be accountable for that. This could also change dramatically depending on my job situation.
  4. Dance on at least six separate weekends. This is a really pathetic number compared to when I lived somewhere where I could dance regularly, but if I can get some lindy in every couple months I will be very pleased.
  5. Visit three places I’ve never been. Currently the plan is for those to be Austin (hopefully in a month or so), Nashville (this summer, with one of my best friends from high school) and Phoenix (in the winter, when one of my college friends will be there for med school) but that could change.
  6. Knit a cardigan or sweater that I really love. First step is finding a good pattern.
  7. Read 25 books. I’ve really been slacking in the reading department the last couple years and I want to get back on that. Recommendations welcome!
  8. Send a physical card and/or gift for the birthdays of at least ten non-family members.
  9. Make five new friends. I would count someone as officially a friend once we’ve hung out two times either one-on-one or in a pretty small group and I wouldn’t feel weird inviting them to do so again. Turning an acquaintance into a friend also counts.

There are many other things I want out of 2015 (health, time with my family, achieving my d*R*eA*m*s**, cooking more, actually making my bed…) but they’re harder to track and I wanted to pick things I could actually know if I had achieved. To that end, I’ve started a new page here where I’m going to track progress towards these goals.

3 Responses to “Goals & Dreams for 2015”

  1. Anonymous January 3, 2015 at 4:47 pm #

    Love this idea of goals instead of resolutions!!

  2. Quirks January 1, 2015 at 1:03 am #

    Lauren, I will be doing this 30 day yoga with Adriene too.. Thanks for sharing about it! I have a goal of reading minimum of 20 books (hope to surpass though).. Any way.. a very Happy New Year and all the best for your goals! 🙂

Leave a Reply

