My purpose and a spam-lution

9 Jan

I am still trying to figure out exactly what I want this blog to be. When I first started it, I thought of it as an online journal of sorts, but the more I’ve written the more I’ve realized I’m interested in writing things that can actually help/impact/inspire others. I think there’s a major dearth of useful writing for those just starting out. One online magazine that is a bit outside the box is Verily, but that’s aimed pretty much entirely at women and also has a strong Christian bent (nothing wrong with that, but it doesn’t resonate with me).

Thus, that’s the market I want to try to fill – practical, reasonable advice and thoughts for twentysomethings who want to do better than just okay. I’m not sure how I’m going to go about doing that – your thoughts on the kind of content you’re interested in would be much appreciated, and I may consider bringing in some guest bloggers – but at least I have a bit of a direction!

To that end, I will begin with a very simple piece of advice for streamlining your life that works for anyone, regardless of life stage. Unroll.me.

I, like most people, get a lot of emails in a day, and most of them are stupid. Groupon, Amazon, donation pleas from my alma mater, all sorts of junk – but it’s not spam. It’s that weird middle category of emails you hate looking at but want to keep receiving. Unroll.me is simple – you log in (they’ll need your email login) and they pull up a list of all those obnoxious recurring emails so you can put them into one simple daily digest, or click one button to get rid of them forever. Your daily email looks something like this:

unroll

Now, I receive one email a day (you can even pick a time of day) that I can quickly scroll through with all of those messages. It’s simple, does not drive me insane like receiving 3 Groupon messages a day used to, and makes sure I still see those that I want to see. If something looks interesting, I can click on it and pull up the entire email.

I’m not a shill for Unroll.me, I just discovered it through a Facebook friend. I’ve been using it for a month or so and it’s made an excellent impact on my inbox, so I highly recommend giving it a shot.

2 Responses to “My purpose and a spam-lution”

  1. Quirks January 9, 2015 at 11:33 pm #

    Have been using Unroll me for a month now.. true, it helps a lot in email cleansing..

Leave a Reply

