Yoga! On the internet!

5 Feb

I’m a big proponent of the fact that there are two ways to do most things: the cheap way, and the needlessly wasteful way. Both result in equal happiness, but only one results in a happy bank account.

One of my favorite examples is yoga. For many people, yoga means buying super-fancy yoga gear (seriously, a pair of Lululemon yoga pants is $100 and their tank tops sell for nearly $60. That’s more than I spend on my professional-adult work clothes!) and membership to a fancy gym or studio (which often runs about $100/month). That doesn’t even count the mats, blocks, blankets, bands and other accoutrements of yoga.

For others, it’s nearly free. Guess which category I fall into!

For about $20, you can pick up a yoga mat at Target. You don’t need one though – for a long time I just used a towel.

Since I do yoga at home, I generally just wear my pajamas, or exercise shorts. Yoga pants can also be found for very cheap – in fact, there’s probably a pair for under $10 sitting around at your local thrift store.

Most of those other accessories are unnecessary, but a towel makes a perfectly good yoga blanket, and my copy of Don Quixote is actually just about the same size as a yoga block, so sometimes I use those.

And of course, the big expense is instruction. Amazingly enough, this is yet another problem the internet has solved – there are tons of free yoga videos on YouTube! My personal favorite is Yoga With Adriene, Adriene posts new videos regularly, and has a huge library of videos already on her channel, ranging from instructional videos on specific poses to yoga for weight loss to yoga for hangovers (umm, no mom, I’ve totally never used that one).

Starting on New Year’s Day this year, she posted a 30 Days of Yoga series (new videos every day, ranging from 15-35 minutes) which I actually just completed. One point for my 2015 resolutions! The series is going to stay online, so you can start any time – I plan to repeat it again soon.

One of my favorite things about her style is that she totally agrees with me. She insists that you don’t need fancy clothes or a fancy mat or fancy equipment – just your body and a willingness to spend half an hour a day doing something good for you. And an internet connection, I suppose.

Yoga is great – over the course of the last month that I’ve been practicing regularly, I’ve noticed myself getting stronger and feeling more at ease in my daily life, as well as engaging in more healthy habits, like other forms of exercise and drinking tea. It’s been a totally enriching addition to my daily life that hasn’t cost me a cent.

4 Responses to “Yoga! On the internet!”

  1. Glenna February 7, 2015 at 1:28 pm #

    Yeah, but you miss all the farting, sighing, groaning, and snoring of a REAL class.

  2. moiandmoney February 6, 2015 at 11:33 am #

    I’m a big yoga fan. 4 years ago I was going 3 times per week. And I credit it for getting me through my training and a 775 mile bike ride in France.

    I go 2-3 times per week now, but it is part of my rock climbing gym membership. When we were in India a couple months ago, a guy we met on the train suggested picking up some DVD’s while we were there.

  3. Ashley February 5, 2015 at 3:44 pm #

    AHHHHH I love her channel– she’s my favorite online yoga teacher because she’s so funny!! I haven’t done her videos in awhile (I switch between being addicted to her and being addicted to Tone it Up) but I was kind of tempted by the 30 day challenge!

Leave a Reply

